This is my first Manicure Monday post!  I’ve seen them on the blogosphere for quite some time now and it seems like a fun way to share about what colors I’ve been enjoying lately.  I’m no nail artist, but I DO like to change things up.  Sometimes, I’ll wear neutral colors, but other times, the shades will be bold.  There are also occasions where I’ll wear different (but complementary) shades on each hand.  It all depends on how I feel.

IMAG1169This week, I went for Julep’s Avni, described as an African violet shimmer.  I applied a Sally Hansen base coat, two layers of Avni, and Julep’s Freedom Polymer Top Coat.  I decided to add a little sparkle to my ring fingers using Sephora’s Formula X Effects Top Coat in Oh! Zone, a silver holographic microglitter.  I was happy that Avni looks just as nice on the nails as it does in the bottle.  I think it’s a shade that will look lovely on a variety of skin tones.  The Formula X Top Coat adds just the right amount of festivity while still being subtle.

I don’t know if you’re familiar with Julep polishes.  I like them, but they took some getting used to.  When I first started using them, I had a difficult time getting even layers because it has a really long wand.  The polish on the end of the brush would be really thick and goopy because of all the excess polish on the wand would drip down onto the brush.  I’ve found that if I wipe that excess polish off the wand as I’m pulling it out of the bottle, I can get much better control over the amount of product I’m using.  It also prevents the excess polish from drying up on the wand and adding goopy polish into my fresh polish.  Ugh.

Aside from that issue, I like that Julep polishes are 5-free (free of formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, toluene, and DBP), vegan, have a UV filter and made in the U.S.  They also have oxygen technology that lets your nail beds breathe.  Each polish is named after a woman and each purchase supports different organizations that empower women.

You know, blogging is making me realize that I like supporting companies that give back somehow.  I guess if I’m going to buy something, it may as well support a good cause, right?

Anyway, what are some of your favorite nail polishes from January?  Any recommendations on colors to try?  Please let me know!

