So, I’ve disappeared off the blogosphere for quite some time…  there are excellent reasons for that.  I’ll share the updates and spare you the whining, okay?  Okay.

Well, I left the job I’ve had in Chicago for the past five years and I started a new one that will allow me to travel to different locations throughout the U.S.  My first assignment has brought me to Fresno, CA.  I did a weeklong road trip with my mom and visited all these amaaaaaazing national parks.  It was a great time for sure – maybe I’ll share about some of those experiences later, but for now…  this is the first time I’ve been completely on my own.  I don’t really know anyone here yet except those I’ve met at work.  I am lucky to have found a good room mate who is willing to share her apartment with me.  Other than that, I am flying solo.

It’s a good opportunity, I think.  It’s good for me to be uncomfortable every once in a while.  I find that I grow the most as a person during these times.  The last time I took an adventure like this was when I was in Australia for 4.5 months.  It was one of the best experiences of my life.  I’m hoping for more of the same.

Holy hell, I can’t believe how drastically different my life is from one month ago.  The change is astounding.  I’ve gone from driving 3-5 hours a day to get to work to maybe 30 minutes, give or take.  I used to have Sunday and Monday as a weekend, but now I’ve joined the Saturday/Sunday club.  It’s nice to be back to that.  I actually get to work 8 hours a day and leave – no overtime for me!  I’d often put in way longer at work and then drive for hours to get home.  This is a much better quality of life now and my heart is thankful.  I feel like I can breathe a sigh of relief.  The past six months have been pretty stressful overall and I realized that slowly, but surely, I had completely cut out all the fun things in my life so I could drive/work/sleep/repeat.  I didn’t have time for fun and I was stuck in my routine.  Things had to change.

So…  here I am.  I left my life behind, at least for a little while.  My assignment in Fresno is only until the end of the year.  Who knows where I’ll end up next?  I’m really looking forward to delving back into the things that bring me joy, like music, cooking, photography, videos, etc.  Hopefully, I’ll have more to share soon.

On a side note, you guys have no idea how ridiculously excited I am to have free wifi at my disposal!!!  I’m at a cafe, drinking a peach lavender honey tea.  I’m wishing it was a bit stronger…  but I admit, I love the internet and I’ve missed it so much.  Sigh.

Anyway, enough geeking out.  I’m glad to be back and reporting happier times.  I hope to post more stuff in the future.  I anticipate having wifi in my apartment soon, but if not, I’ll have to come back to this cafe.  Thanks for reading!

